Breadcrumb

News & Calendar

News & Announcements

Meet Your Lions: Donna Russo
Marquis Austin

The Weekly is pleased to introduce the new members of Columbia Grammar & Preparatory School’s faculty. Last week, we caught up with the Prep School’s new global and U.S. history teacher, Donna Russo, about her love of history, working with students and joining the CGPS community.

Read More about Meet Your Lions: Donna Russo
Middle School PE Teacher Venus Cooke Participates in Races Around the Globe
Marquis Austin

In July, Middle School PE teacher and awe-inspiring athlete Venus Cooke completed her first Ironman Triathlon in Lake Placid, NY. Ms. Cooke has also competed in California’s Escape from Alcatraz Triathlon, the Garden State Fondo (the Northeast’s foremost cycling race), three half Ironman distance triathlons, multiple road races through the New York Road Runners organization and, most recently, the Berlin Marathon.

Read More about Middle School PE Teacher Venus Cooke Participates in Races Around the Globe

Academic Calendar for 2019-2020

First Day of School:
Grades 5-12: Thursday, Sept. 5
Grades PreK - 4 (half day for Grades 1-4): Thursday, Sept. 5
First full day of class for Grades 1-4: Friday, Sept. 6

Fall:
SCHOOL RECESS Rosh Hashanah: Monday & Tuesday, Sept. 30 & Oct. 1
SCHOOL RECESS Yom Kippur: Wednesday, Oct. 9
SCHOOL RECESS Columbus Day: Monday, Oct. 14
PARENT/TEACHER CONFERENCE DAYS (no classes PreK-12): Thursday & Friday, November 14 & 15
THANKSGIVING RECESS: Wednesday, Nov. 27 - Sunday, Dec. 1

Winter:
WINTER RECESS Grades Pre-K – 12: End of school day, Friday, Dec. 20 - Sunday, January 5   
SCHOOL RECESS Martin Luther King, Jr. Day: Monday, January 20
PROFESSIONAL DAYS (no classes PreK-12): Monday & Tuesday, January 27 & 28
PRESIDENTS' BIRTHDAY RECESS: Monday & Tuesday, February 17 & 18

Spring:
SPRING RECESS:  Grades Pre-K -12 End of school day, Friday, March 13 - Sunday, March 29 
SCHOOL RECESS Easter/Passover: Thursday, April 9 - Sunday, April 12
PARENT/TEACHER CONFERENCE DAYS (no classes PreK-12): Thursday & Friday, April 16 & 17
SCHOOL RECESS Memorial Day: Monday, May 25
GRADE 12 COMMENCEMENT EXERCISES: Thursday, May 28
SCHOOL CLOSING: Noon, Friday, June 5
EXAM RETURN DAY (Grades 8-12): Monday, June 8